The TEFL Life: A TEFL blog

a story about bad grammar and non-existent punctuation and my TEFL adventures

A Liebster Award for Jellybeanqueen

How cool am I? Way back in May I was nominated for a Liebster Award by the lovely  Sarah Mitchell (guttertoglobe.com) and I’m only just getting round to accepting it (because work, life, husband blah blah blah). But now, finally, I am and I am so stoked about this!

Thank you Sarah 🙂

For those of you who don’t know what this is all about, the Liebster Award is given to bloggers by other bloggers. Liebster means ‘favourite’ or ‘lovely’ in German, so I think it’s quite a rad award to be given by another blogger.

How it works is that I answer a few questions from Sarah, then I will nominate a few blogs I like and set them my own questions to answer. So you can find out a bit more about me and then have a look at some of my favourite blogs.

Who are you?

Well, this is me. This is me eating ice cream in San Sebastian in Spain, pretending to study on my DELTA course, and with a monkey on my head in Lopburi, Thailand. I am a TEFL teacher, teacher trainer and lifelong traveller. I now am back home in Cape Town (which is not too shabby a place to live) and I try and write semi-decent ELT materials for small change.

Is this your first and only blog, and when did you start blogging?

This is indeed my first blog. Now I also have a blog for students, but it’s still only a toddler and I’m not sure yet if it will mature or not.

What was your inspiration to begin blogging?

It started off as a way to deal with retrenchment and the subsequent unemployment, but I never imagined how helpful it would be in my work.

Who were the first followers of your blog?

Who knows? I didn’t really publicise my blog in the beginning so it definitely wasn’t any of my friends. Probably random bored people who stumbled on it somehow late at night.

What is the message of your blog? Something informative? Helpful? Inspirational?

Hopefully helpful. I’m all about sharing ideas, materials and resources (as are so many other wonderful people in this industry) so I like to think teachers get ideas from my blog. Or at least they get to look at pretty pictures.

What has been your worst moment (that you’re willing to share) whilst travelling, and did you blog it?

I’ve done many naïve/stupid things while I’ve been travelling but my scariest moment must’ve been on Koh Change, Thailand when I managed to get stranded on a tiny patch of rock far far from the shore when the tide came in. 12 Hours alone with no water, sunscreen or phone signal – not my favourite day. Luckily I was picked up by some lonely fishermen later that night.

If you won $10 million, what would you do with it?

Is that even a question? Drink copious amounts of champagne and plan a dream-come-true trip around the world.

If you could meet one historical figure or celebrity, who would it be and why?

Princess Diana. No particular reason why. And Freddy Mercury.

What do you picture your life will be like in 10 years time?

I’ll spend my days drinking wine, writing bestselling novels and summering in France. Or running around after my children, writing mediocre blog posts and summering in the garden. Only time will tell.

If you could meet your childhood self, what one piece of advice or what words of wisdom would you want to share?

Don’t cut your hair.

Which could you most easily live without and which would you miss the most: running water, electric lighting, Internet, books, television, or your mobile/cell phone?

I could very easily live without my cell phone – I usually just tend to “forget” it at home anyway – but I could never live without books. Why would you do a thing like that?

But enough about me. If I have nominated you for a Liebster Award and you choose to accept it, here are your questions:

  1. Who are you?
  2. Why are you here?
  3. How do you hope to change the world?
  4. Tea or coffee?
  5. Which actor/actress looks most like you?
  6. What’s one thing not many people know about you?

My Liebster nominees are all blogs about the things I love: teaching and travelling. Check them out for some information, inspiration and just general good times.

  1. A(nother) Year in Japan
  2. Wandering ELT
  3. TEFLwaffle
  4. Journeys of George
  5. Five Against One: Teaching Against the Odds
  6. The Portable TEFList

 

Rules for the Liebster Award:

  • Accept and answer the questions given to you
  • Write 5 – 10 questions of your own
  • Nominate the same number of blogs/bloggers (newer, smaller blogs)
  • Write an article about this nomination on your blog and link it back to me
  • Post your Liebster Award blog post link in the comments section of this blog post

 

And then you can post the shiny Liesbter Award sticker on your blog. Fancy.

Liebster-Badge

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2016 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 14,714 hits
Follow The TEFL Life: A TEFL blog on WordPress.com

Top Posts & Pages

Instagram

One of my favourite things to do when in a new city is to wander the streets with nowhere to go...#kualalumpur Just when you think you've seen enough temples....#kl #malaysia Historic Granada, in the south of Spain, has architectural surprises around every corner. A great city to wander around on sunny afternoons. Just north-east of Bordeaux, Saint Emilion is a UNESCO World Heritage site and a picture-perfext setting for some delicious wine tasting. Sandscapes in #dubai🇦🇪 Winelands ✔ sunshine ✔ weekend ✔
