The TEFL Life: A TEFL blog

a story about bad grammar and non-existent punctuation and my TEFL adventures

IATEFL 2016

I’m so stoked to be able to announce that I am one of the official online bloggers for IATEFL 2016! Yay me 🙂

I was lucky enough to be able to attend IATEFL 2010 when it was held in Harrowgate. Lucky because I was living in Cambridge at the time and because the school I was working for generously sponsored my ticket (in return for CPD sessions based on the conference).

At that time I had just finished my DELTA and so I was wondering whether I’d be too TEFLed-out to appreciate the conference, and I have never been happier to be so so wrong.

The experience was truly amazing, not only the speakers but also just mixing and meeting like-minded people – such a privilege. I found the whole thing overwhelmingly inspirational and left Harrowgate with a newfound love for all things conference.

Since then, I have only been able to attend smaller EFL conferences (the conference vibe is not so big in SA) and I have been trying to finagle sponsorship to attend another IATEFL ever since, to no avail.

This year I will happily accept that I will not be rubbing shoulders with my esteemed EFL colleagues, drinking coffee out of paper cups and eating tiny little biscuits, but instead I will be at my desk, probably with a glass of wine (maybe I’ll put it in a paper cup just for old time’s sake). But that’s ok because I’ll get to blog about it and I’ll pretend I am there and my brain will once again be stimulated and motivated and inspired. Glory.

Stay tuned!

IATEFL Birmingham 2016 13th – 16th April 2016

Blogger-Birmingham-300x300px-banner2.png

 

One comment on “IATEFL 2016

  1. Pingback: 5 Reasons Not To Be a TEFL Teacher | The TEFL Life: A TEFL blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 8, 2016 by in conferences, General TEFL and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 16,259 hits
Follow The TEFL Life: A TEFL blog on WordPress.com

Top Posts & Pages

Instagram

One of my favourite things to do when in a new city is to wander the streets with nowhere to go...#kualalumpur Just when you think you've seen enough temples....#kl #malaysia Historic Granada, in the south of Spain, has architectural surprises around every corner. A great city to wander around on sunny afternoons. Just north-east of Bordeaux, Saint Emilion is a UNESCO World Heritage site and a picture-perfext setting for some delicious wine tasting. Sandscapes in #dubai🇦🇪
