The TEFL Life: A TEFL blog

a story about bad grammar and non-existent punctuation and my TEFL adventures

Why am I here?

Considering this is my first post of the new year, I thought it would be appropriate to introduce myself again, in a way. I have been blogging for a year now – my anniversary is January 11, to be precise – and I have amazed myself by publishing 81 blog posts since this time last year, which is really quite impressive for me.

I basically spent the whole of 2014 thinking about writing a blog and I can only assume it was the fear of failure that kept me from putting pen to paper – you can’t fail if you don’t try, that kind of thing. Besides, you’re always better in your head than in your real life, aren’t you, and who wants to find that out?

So for me to actually follow through with an idea and then keep it going for a whole year is a massive achievement. But what, exactly, has been the whole point of this blogging thing?

Well, there are two reasons, basically: for the love of writing and for the love of all things TEFL.

I’ve always enjoyed writing and find the idea of *real* people actually reading what I write is quite thrilling now that I have gotten over my need for perfection. I do know I could definitely get better and we all know we should/need to dedicate 10 000 hours to a skill before we can perfect it, which means that this year I’ve added about another 81 hours towards achieving this goal.  High-fives all round.

Then there’s my ultimate passion: teaching English. As if travelling the world and meeting amazing people wasn’t enough, I’ve been lucky enough to do exactly what I want to be doing with my life, spending my days playing with words, grammar and all things English. So this is my way of letting other people know about the radness that is the world of TEFL and share resources that I make or find which will help other TEFLers out there fighting the good fight.

So there, that’s why I’m here. But why are you here?

😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2016 by in General TEFL, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 14,715 hits
Follow The TEFL Life: A TEFL blog on WordPress.com

Top Posts & Pages

Instagram

One of my favourite things to do when in a new city is to wander the streets with nowhere to go...#kualalumpur Just when you think you've seen enough temples....#kl #malaysia Historic Granada, in the south of Spain, has architectural surprises around every corner. A great city to wander around on sunny afternoons. Just north-east of Bordeaux, Saint Emilion is a UNESCO World Heritage site and a picture-perfext setting for some delicious wine tasting. Sandscapes in #dubai🇦🇪 Winelands ✔ sunshine ✔ weekend ✔
