The TEFL Life: A TEFL blog

a story about bad grammar and non-existent punctuation and my TEFL adventures

winning at life: London – Cambridge

So I must admit, I didn’t last in London very long. I found it tough and unfriendly and overwhelming. There is so much to see and do in London – but not so much if you don’t have any pounds – but after a while the hectic lifestyle caught up with me. It is amazing how lonely and alone you can feel in such a big, busy city.

London is a great place, don’t get me wrong, but sometimes you realise that a place just isn’t for you.

So I did what anybody would do: I went travelling! I worked hard, saves my pennies and went off to India for 6 weeks, and just like that, I felt whole again. So when I went  back to the UK, I knew I couldn’t stay in London anymore, so I made possibly the best decision of my life to move to a beautiful little place called Cambridge.

Cambridge: a city so small yet so beautiful, so historic, so mind-blowing. Why Cambridge, I hear you ask, when there are so many beautiful historic little towns in the UK? Well, the funny thing with teaching, I’ve found, is that after a while you find yourself wishing you were on the other side of the classroom. By this time I’d been teaching for almost 5 years and I felt like I needed to experience being a student again, but being so passionate about teaching made me want to study something relevant to my career. No point taking a year out of life to study just for the sake of it. Besides, back to school when you are in your late 20s is not the easiest thing in the world, but it should definitely be on your bucket list.

So, in October 2007 I started my Master’s in English and Applied Linguistics at Cambridge University.

Winning at life.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2015 by in travel, UK and tagged , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 16,259 hits
Follow The TEFL Life: A TEFL blog on WordPress.com

Top Posts & Pages

Instagram

One of my favourite things to do when in a new city is to wander the streets with nowhere to go...#kualalumpur Just when you think you've seen enough temples....#kl #malaysia Historic Granada, in the south of Spain, has architectural surprises around every corner. A great city to wander around on sunny afternoons. Just north-east of Bordeaux, Saint Emilion is a UNESCO World Heritage site and a picture-perfext setting for some delicious wine tasting. Sandscapes in #dubai🇦🇪
