The TEFL Life: A TEFL blog

a story about bad grammar and non-existent punctuation and my TEFL adventures

Thailand

DSC03290

So there I was, 21, recent graduate, TEFL course under my belt, unemployed. Imagine being so young that those were  the most exciting days.

Each day I basked in my newfound freedom, the endless opportunities running constantly through my head, defiantly ignoring my dwindling bank balance. Each day I dreamt of the many (thousands!) of grateful students I would meet, whose lives I would change for the better, one phrasal verb at a time. Each day I went to the bookshop (yes, this was a long time ago) and looked at all the pretty travel guides.

Where to go, where to go? While I may have thought there were countless countries for me to grace with my presence, financial and visa issues soon made me realise there was only one really good option: Thailand.

At that time, I could apply for a work visa from Cape Town without a job in sight and they welcomed me with open arms and promises of pad thai. These days I’m sure there are a few more hurdles to jump over to get there (as there are for most countries) but in the good old days of 2003, Thailand was my oyster.

I enlisted the companionship of two adventurous friends, spent all my savings on a ticket and said my goodbyes to anyone who cared. We don’t need to say goodbye, I told them, I’ll be back in a year.

Thankfully, I was wrong yet again.

2 comments on “Thailand

  1. Pingback: a hot mess | Jellybeanqueen: A TEFL blog

  2. Pingback: Behind the scenes of Jellybeanqueen: #ELTbehindthescenes | Jellybeanqueen: A TEFL blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 15, 2015 by in Thailand, travel and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 16,240 hits
Follow The TEFL Life: A TEFL blog on WordPress.com

Top Posts & Pages

Instagram

One of my favourite things to do when in a new city is to wander the streets with nowhere to go...#kualalumpur Just when you think you've seen enough temples....#kl #malaysia Historic Granada, in the south of Spain, has architectural surprises around every corner. A great city to wander around on sunny afternoons. Just north-east of Bordeaux, Saint Emilion is a UNESCO World Heritage site and a picture-perfext setting for some delicious wine tasting. Sandscapes in #dubai🇦🇪
